How Much Does a Surrogate Mother Get Paid in Texas?
Becoming a surrogate is a generous decision with many benefits. You’ll be helping another family fulfill their dream of having a child. With Simple Surrogacy, you’ll be connected to a supportive network of surrogacy coordinators who have all been surrogates as well. Our agency also hosts surrogate retreats and provides an attorney as well as an insured, bonded escrow account for secure, fast payments.
As a surrogate, you may be interested in how much you can get paid. Let’s take a closer look at surrogate compensation.
Surrogacy Compensation in Texas
Every surrogacy contract is different, so compensation can vary from agreement to agreement. Simple Surrogacy is headquartered in Dallas, Texas, and while we have surrogates all across the country, we are particularly aware of surrogacy laws and advantages in our home state of Texas.
Our surrogates’ expenses are reimbursed within three days of then being submitted. We provide an escrow account and offer direct deposit for surrogates. We can also provide surrogates with funds to cover travel expenses.
The total compensation for a surrogate in Texas, including benefits and expenses, can be $46,000 and up. The base compensation for a first time surrogate in Texas with insurance covering maternity is $40,000. In addition to this compensation, surrogates receive a monthly allowance for expenses such as childcare, vitamins, pregnancy supplies and more. More information on other reimbursements and fees can be found on our surrogate mother compensation page.
How Much Do Surrogates Get Paid for Procedures?
If the surrogacy process involves an embryo transfer, our surrogates are paid after each procedure. The fee is $750 plus expenses including travel, meals, parking, lost wages and childcare. If any invasive procedures are undertaken, surrogates are compensated $500 per procedure. Examples of these procedures include HSG and cerclage. If the surrogate has a cesarean section at delivery, she can be compensated $2,500 for pain and added risks if it is her first c-section, and $1,500 if it is a subsequent one.
Are Surrogates Paid for Maternity Clothes?
When a surrogate reaches 13 weeks gestation, an allowance for maternity clothes is paid. A surrogate receives $800 for maternity clothes with a singleton pregnancy and $1,000 for multiples.
What Are Other Reimbursements Surrogates Receive in Texas?
In many cases, reimbursements that surrogates receive do not necessarily depend on her state of residency. However, you should check with your surrogacy agency.
At Simple Surrogacy, we reimburse surrogates for local travel (within 100 round trip miles) $0.575 per mile or the current IRS guideline rate. Longer distance travel expenses are reimbursed at actual cost. If a surrogate is put on doctor ordered bed rest, she can receive $250 per week, capped at $6,000, unless otherwise specified in her surrogacy agreement. If a surrogate carries twins or greater, she can receive $75 per week from 26 weeks of pregnancy for housekeeping. Additionally, for each additional baby carried, a surrogate can receive an additional $8,000 per child.
Of course, these are all average expenses for first-time surrogates. Experienced surrogates set their own compensation and fees within reason. If you are interested in becoming a surrogate, we encourage you to contact us at Simple Surrogacy. We can answer any questions you have about compensation or other surrogacy issues. We understand the concerns of a surrogate, as many of our team members have been surrogates previously, and we uniquely care for our surrogates at every step of the process.